Discussions

On an upcoming adaptation

I am the type of person who believes “the book is always better than the movie”. It’s a different rule for TV shows however. There are quite a few that are well made.

So when I came across the trailer of the movie “Murder on the orient express”, I was both excited and apprehensive. My apprehension didn’t prove wrong.

I have religiously watched the BBC adaptations of all the Hercule Poirot stories and David Suchet was, for me, the perfect Poirot. He had the right accent, height and the egg shaped head. He was also the most endearing version of the character.

Kenneth Branagh however (based on the trailer) looks just plain wrong for the role. He looks more like an evil magician right out of those old mystical tales. He’s too tall for the role, quite theatrical and that moustache looks ridiculous. I doubt if Poirot would be proud of THAT moustache.

Poirot

Picture taken from WS Buzz

I’m quite disappointed (like that wasn’t apparent !!). Having said that, I’d probably still watch the movie because I love Agatha Christie stories and perhaps (apprehensive again) Poirot is the only thing wrong with it (that’s a big one to overlook).

Let me know what you guys think of the trailer, or adaptations in general.

P.S: I didn’t have any plans of putting up a post today, but I just HAD TO rant about this trailer 😛

-Vrinda.

5 thoughts on “On an upcoming adaptation

    1. Thank you 😊 I agree with you on Matilda. As for Charlie and the chocolate factory, I liked the one with Gene Wilder. Although the one with Depp was more similar to the book, I think Wilder makes a better Willy Wonka.

      Like

Leave a Reply

