Reading Update

Reading Goals #1

Hellooooooo !!!! (I’m in a surprisingly good mood today !)

How’s the weekend going ?  First, here’s some news from the book world. A new “To Kill A Mockingbird” graphic novel has been announced ðŸ˜ðŸ˜ƒ. I don’t know about you people, but I am SUPER EXCITED about this. It’s one of my all time favourite books.

Okay, now that that’s done, let’s talk reading goals.

(Ignore the quality of that image, I’m still trying to figure this stuff out.)

I never take part in the Goodreads reading challenge. I don’t like keeping a certain number of books as reading goal because it would just lead to disappointment if I don’t reach that number. After all, as long as we read and enjoy the books we read, how does it matter anyway ?! However I do set my own goals.

I love reading both fiction and non-fiction equally. Fiction introduces me to new worlds and helps me escape reality for a few hours. Whereas, non-fiction helps me understand reality better. Last year, I realised that I don’t read as many non fiction books as I would like to. So the first reading goal I set myself, is to read more non-fiction and though I don’t like keeping a fixed number of books as a reading goal, for this particular one, I’ve kept the goal as atleast 12 non-fiction books. That’s one non fiction every month, which I think is reasonable.

Here are the non-fiction books I’ve read so far, this year –

  1. Popski’s Private Army by Vladimir Peniakoff – This one’s a world war 2 memoir.
  2. The Life of Ian Fleming by John George Pearson – Biography of the man who created James Bond.
  3. Glimpses of World History by Jawaharlal Nehru – The letters Nehru wrote to his daughter Indira Gandhi from prison.
  4. The Know-it-All : One Man’s Humble Quest to Become the Smartest Person in the World by A.J. Jacob – This book chronicles A.J. Jacob’s quest to read the entire Encyclopedia Britannica from A-Z in hopes of becoming the smartest person in the world.
  5. Kohinoor by William Dalrymple and Anita Anand (I’m currently reading this one, expect a review soon)

As you can probably figure out, I’m already lagging on this goal 😝. That’s because I’ve been busy (still am) preparing for an exam and haven’t been able to get much reading done. So, if any of you have any non-fiction book recommendation, leave a comment below.

My second reading goal is to read more books/stories in my mother tongue. I’m a Malayali (a person whose mother tongue is Malayalam). For those of you who don’t know, Malayalam is an Indian language spoken by the natives of the south Indian state of Kerala. Though I know to read Malayalam, I can’t read at a decent speed. I read it at the pace in which a 5 or 6 year old would read. Apart from being quite embarrassing, reading at such slow speed also means not enjoying the story. So I picked up a book named “Eitheehyamaala” by Kottarathil Shankunni, which is a collection of 126 stories (900 pages). Hopefully, that speed improves. If any of my fellow malayalis read this (at least 1 of you probably would, because we are EVERYWHERE !!), I could do with a few more book recommendations (Please don’t mention M.T.V’s works, every malayali knows of them)

Now, my third goal is something I haven’t started working on, because to do that I’ll need some help from you. I’m learning French !! (still a long way to go). So, if anyone knows a french book that a beginner like me can manage to read, do let me know. For the time being, I have ordered the french version of “the little prince”, since it’s a book I’ve already read in English.

Okay, that’s about it !! What are your reading goals ?! Let me know in the comments, would love to know 🙂

-Vrinda.

10 thoughts on “Reading Goals #1

  1. Life is always in the way of our reading goals!!! Gosh… Love the idea of 12 non-fiction for 12 months. You’ve read some pretty interesting ones too. I didn’t know about the Ian Fleming one, although I think I’m going to try and read his classic books first, before learning about the guy hahah Hope your exams go well too!! Happy reading. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent Post! Same! I’m soooooo stoked about the To Kill a Mockingbird graphic novel. I’ve read the novel twice and watched the movie countless times and now that the novel is coming out I’m falling in love with Atticus all over again 🙂
    I love your opinion about the Goodreads challenge. I set my goal at 100 and I know I’m going to feel super bummed out if I don’t reach the goal. I’m one of those readers that loves super long novels (recently finished The Goldfinch, a whopping 800 pages!), so it usually takes me longer to get through books. As a result I’m SOOOOO behind! eeek!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well it’s alright. Quality matters more than quantity. Quality of the reading experience I mean, not the quality of the book. I really want to read The Goldfinch as soon as I’m done reading some of the other books I want to read badly 🙈😅

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice collection…. I got used to reading books at an early age. Since then there’s no stopping. However, I also couldn’t read non-fiction. I m still trying for it…. Thanks to your list of non-fictions… i will start again….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you find my list of non-fiction books interesting. I have no trouble reading non-fiction, it’s just that there are always so many fiction books that I want to read, non-fiction just gets ignored.

      Like

Leave a Reply

