Read-along/Read-a-thon

Read-alongs I’m currently participating in.

Hello Book lovers !!

How’s everyone doing ? I’m finally taking part in 2 read-alongs. I’m so excited for these. Of course these read-alongs involve some pretty heavy books, but it’s good to challenge yourself once in a while, right ?

I’m a bit late on this post, so the first read-along has already begun and will go on till December. It’s called the ShakeTube read-along and is hosted by Luukashist Books on booktube. I came to know of it through Steve Donoghue’s Channel. Steve is one of my favourite booktubers and I am quite envious of his daily mail-hauls and his overflowing bookshelves (not kidding, he really does have a LOT of books, I wonder how there’s enough space for his furniture). His bookshelves are goals. I’ll get there (owning a house full of books) some day (hopefully).

Anyway, coming back to ShakeTube, it’s a read-along of 15 of Shakespeare’s plays. One play each week. It started with The Taming of the Shrew. Now, for those of you who might be interested in joining this read-along, here’s the schedule as per Luukash’s channel-

  • Aug 25 : The Taming of the Shrew
  • Sept 1 : Richard III
  • Sept 8 : Romeo and Juliet
  • Sept 15 : Julius Caesar
  • Sept 22 : A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • Sept 29 : The Merchant of Venice
  • Oct 6 : Much Ado About Nothing
  • Oct 13 : Richard II
  • Oct 20 : Henry V
  • Oct 27 : Hamlet
  • Nov 3 : Othello
  • Nov 10 : King Lear
  • Nov 17 : Macbeth
  • Nov 24 : Anthony and Cleopatra
  • Dec 1 : The Tempest

The dates mentioned are the fridays on which the books will be discussed/opinions will be shared on the respective booktube channels or book blogs. You’re of course free to change that to Saturday or Sunday. (If I decide to post my thoughts on these, that post would be on Sundays)

    The second read-along I’m participating in is the DECAMORAMA read-along hosted by Adam from Memento Mori who’s another of my favourite booktubers. This is a month-long read-along in September. Now this is part of Adam’s annual Memento Mori read-along (which he started last year) which involves reading one classic that people are usually intimidated by. Last year the book chosen was Dante’s Divine Comedy. This year, it’s “The Decameron” by Giovanni Boccaccio, hence the name Decamorama.

    Now, I know what you’re thinking. Decamorama AND ShakeTube ? That’s a LOT for any reader (unless you’re the likes of Steve Donoghue). I might’ve (I’ve definitely) bitten off more than I can chew.

    BUT, here’s the thing. I don’t intend to read all of those 15 plays of Shakespeare. You see, I recently read a lot of Shakespeare (starting this Jan). So I’ll only be reading the ones I haven’t read this year (which also means I haven’t read them in a long time). So based on that, this is quite manageable for me (hopefully).

    Also, because I can’t resist showing off, I recently completed my Shakespeare collection, here’s the pic (which you might’ve already seen on my instagram account).

    Are you participating in any read-alongs or read-a-thons ? Also, what’s your favourite Shakespearean play ? Let me know down in the comments.

    Have a great weekend everyone !!

    -Vrinda.

    12 thoughts on “Read-alongs I’m currently participating in.

    1. Pingback: IRL Book Tag!
    2. oh gosh wow- I had no idea about this ShakeTube- but this is so awesome- gonna have to check it out!! (Iโ€™m the same as well with the Shakespeare- Iโ€™ve only not read two of these so itโ€™s not too much- but of course theyโ€™re right at the beginning- so I should probably get on it pronto!) I really hope you enjoy doing this!!

      Liked by 1 person

    3. The only Shakespeare Iโ€™ve ever read is the abridged version we had in school textbooks! I donโ€™t think Iโ€™ll ever be able to read an unabridged version of any of Shakespeareโ€™s play. I have a book of his sonnets though (with a line by line explanation provided along with it *facepalm*).

      My favourite (abridged) Shakespeare play is Hamlet. And King Lear.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The only Shakespeare I remember reading in school was one act from Julius Caesar and “Seven ages of man”. So all the Shakespearean plays I’ve read are the ones I read by myself. Also, I really think you should give it a try. I know it’s intimidating for some but that’s only because we THINK we won’t get it.
        I love Hamlet too.

        Like

    Leave a Reply

