Tags

Tag : How I Choose My Books

Hello Everyone !!

First of all, I have a request to all my fellow bloggers. Please DO NOT nominate me for the sunshine blogger award. I have been nominated 4 times now and I’m really grateful to all those who tagged/nominated me. Thanks for all the love. But honestly, I can’t possibly answer more than 44 questions and I want to do it in one single post instead of doing 4 different posts. I will hopefully do that post next week.

Okay, now let’s get to the “How I Choose My Books Tag”. I was tagged by Meggan @ Between The Pages and Dorka @ Berries and Books to do this tag. Thanks for tagging me Megs and Dorka. If you haven’t checked their blogs out, please do. They’re both awesome !!

Find a book on your bookshelves with a blue cover. What made you want to pick up this book?

The book I picked is Ulysses by James Joyce. I picked up this book because I got it at a highly discounted rate and the cheapskate in me for some WEIRD reason thought I was smart enough to ACTUALLY understand this thing (I tried). That was a few years ago and I’m still too scared to pick this up and try to read it again.

Think of a book you didnโ€™t expect to enjoy, but did. Why did you read it in the first place?

For this I’m picking Environmentally Friendly by Elias Zanbaka. It’s an action thriller short story. You can find my review of it here. I didn’t expect to enjoy this because it’s a thriller short story, and usually they’re not very well done. However, I loved this one. Why did I read it ? Because the author sent me a review request and the plot seemed interesting enough, so I accepted.

Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick a book at random. How did you discover this book?

The Decameron. I discovered it thanks to the DECAMORAMA read-along. I googled the book and it seemed interesting, so I joined the read-along. If you’re interested in knowing about the read-along, you can read my previous post.

Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you. What did you think of it?

The Palace of Illusions by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni. It was recommended to me by my uncle. In fact he gifted it to me on my birthday and it’s the only book-gift I’ve ever liked and I get very very few books as gifts to begin with (exact number is 4. Ya, 4 books are all I’ve ever received as gifts till date).

Pick a book up that you discovered through booktube/bookstagram/book blogs. Did it live up to the hype?

The Gene by Siddhartha Mukherjee. I’m currently reading this and so far I’m loving it (only 28 pages in). 

Find a book on your shelves with a one-word title. What drew you to this book?

I have very few books with one word titles. So for this, I picked Foundation by Isaac Asimov. I love sci-fi and this book is one of the best sci-fi books out there. I did not regret picking this one. It’s one of my all time favourites. What drew me to this book ? I was looking to read some of Asimov’s works and this one seemed interesting and is the most popular of his books.

What book did you discover through a film/TV adaptation?

The Child in Time. I heard Benedict Cumberbatch is starring in a TV adaptation of this book and being a fan, I HAD TO read the book before the series comes out. It was an excellent read and I think BC would fit the role perfectly.

Think of your all-time favorite book(s). When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

There are quite a number of books in this list. Some I picked up because they were hyped, others because people I respect suggested them to me and some others were picked up after I read their synopsis while browsing the shelves at bookstores.

I TAG…

Anyone who wants to do this tag.

Have a great day everyone !! I really wanted to end this post with “But hey, that’s just a tag, A Book Tag” (I have no clue if anyone HERE would get that reference, if you do, here’s a clap and a half to you ๐Ÿ‘โœ‹!!)

-Vrinda.

5 thoughts on “Tag : How I Choose My Books

    1. Hahaha well, the clap and a half was also a part of the reference. And I don’t think you can go wrong if you got both of those. But in case you’re still unsure, tweet or dm on twitter ‘coz let’s keep the answer away from this post and not spoil it for others.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

